Goodbye Cuba, Mi Amigo!

This is part of a series of Facebook postings I am migrating to WordPress after I resumed posting on my proper blog, here on WordPress, in early December. I have kept the theme and the pictures, with captions and commentary from the original post.

From my FaceBook post of Oct 28, 2022:

Goodbye Cuba – my flight leaves at 7:00 tonight. And will I return to Roc Barlovento again? A definite maybe!

Last night there was a celebration around the pool. Live music, mojitos and nibbles for all! The manager of the resort kicked off the evening by thanking us for coming to their resort and spending time with the Roc Barlovento family. It was a beautiful setting and the music-typical Cubano folk-was nice. Today, lunch was out back at their outdoor patio-roast pig and all the trimmings and a show to mark the resort’s “Cuban Day”. After yesterday’s food discussion you may wonder whether I would recommend a 4 star and in particular the Roc Barlovento. So here goes.

The quality of the facility and the entrainment is what would make me choose a 4 star next time, even if my Cuban friends suggest a lower priced resort. I’ve quite enjoyed the evening shows here and there are many more varieties of activities here making it a much better vacation and at only maybe $20 more per day than a decent 3 star. A no brainer.

Whether this is better than some other 4 stars depends on your age bracket and situation I think. This resort is adults only so nothing here for families. Also the average age of guests is a tad older than say, my daughter Tegan’s crowd and I know she has a favourite resort down here where the night life is a bit more happening.

One other observation: the Ukrainian War has also really hurt Cuban tourism. A good proportion of the tourists who used to come to Varadero were Russians – evidenced by the bilingual signs (Spanish and Russian) up and down the Main Street. I heard only 1 Russian speaking tourist- a man who broke into English to say he was looking forward to arriving in Canada. I guess he was one of those 10s of thousands of Russian men who managed to get out before the flights stopped and avoiding military service.

A sample of the lunch time show.
The roast pig was excellent!
Other nights the large stage featured the resident dance troupe strutting their stuff.
Last night’s entertainment was by the pool.
My last sunset here in 2022.
A glimmer of moon pokes through the palms.
Russian anyone? Russian tourists are no more – all away at war.

Leave a comment